Russian Dark Rye Bread Recipe

bread

I love Russian dark rye bread, especially Borodinsky bread, but it’s hard to find in Arizona. So, after many trials and errors (probably more errors than trials), I came up with a recipe that’s very easy and tastes very much like Russian rye bread. I have a Breadman breadmaker that requires liquid ingredients first, then the solid ones. The order is important, so if you have a breadmaker, make sure to follow instructions for the order of ingredients. If you don’t have a breadmaker, then I have no idea what to do…

So, here’s the recipe:

Put 3 tablespoons of dry malt powder in a cup, add 100 ml of hot water, mix it well, let it cool a bit, then put it in the breadmaker.

I use Diastatic Barley Malt powder from Hoosier Hill Farm that I buy on amazon.com

Add in order:

200 ml of very warm/almost hot water

2 tablespoons of sunflower/vegetable oil

2.5 tablespoons of molasses

2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar

1 teaspoon of salt

1/2 tablespoon of sugar

1 teaspoon of coriander powder

2 teaspoons of coriander seeds (you can use ground coriander, too. I use one teaspoon of ground coriander and another teaspoon of whole seeds, mashed slightly)

1 teaspoon of caraway seeds

2 cups of rye flour

1 cup of white flour

2 teaspoons of dry yeast

I use whole wheat setting, and the whole process takes 3.5 hours, then I let the bread cool in the breadmaker so it’s not as squishy. That’s it!

The taste is very similar to Russian Borodinsky bread, but the process is much simplified, kind of like real champagne vs. sparkling wine.

If you try making it, let me know how it turns out!

Categories: Borodinsky bread, dark rye bread, Russia, Russian bread, Russian dark rye bread, Russian Food, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Russian Dark Rye Bread Recipe

  1. I also love dark bread. It kept me alive during my last visit to Russia in 1973.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

