Russian Pickled Cabbage

cabbages

cabbages (Photo credit: bgblogging)

This is one of my mom’s favorite recipes. I’d love to hear how it worked out for you! My guests usually like it :).

 

Ingredients for the cabbage mix:

Half a head of cabbage, shredded

One large carrot, shredded or grated

Half a cup of raisins

Half a cup of seedless grapes

4-5 cloves of garlic

Have a medium bunch of cilantro or parsley, cut thinly

 

Ingredients for the brine:

Sugar, salt, vegetable oil, and vinegar

 

Steps:

1. Make the brine by boiling a mixture of the following:

one cup water

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon of salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2. After the mixture comes to a boil, remove from heat and add 1/4 cup of vinegar (you don’t want to boil vinegar because it will evaporate)

3. Toss together ingredients for the cabbage mix

4. Pour the brine over the cabbage mix, cover, and put something heavy on top. I usually put the mix in a bowl, cover with a plate, put some cans on top, and leave on the counter overnight (NOT in the fridge) to allow for the cabbage to ferment. The next morning, put your pickled cabbage in the fridge. It tastes best cold.

5. Enjoy!

Categories: Russian Food | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Russian Pickled Cabbage

  1. Thank you! I will try this! Looks really good!

    Like

  2. Thanks!! I hope you like it.

    Like

  3. Trying this~!

    Like

  4. I want to ask is this a recipe that I need to eat right away, or can I can it or store it in the brine? Sorry, not so familiar with cabbage or brine for that matter…. thanks.

    Like

  5. I wouldn’t keep it for more than five days. There are long-term pickling recipes, but this is not one of them. This is a make-it-quick-eat-it-quick recipe. I try not to make too much at once because I hate throwing away food. As a variation, you can add craisins instead of raisins. In Russia, my mom used to add red currants — but they are hard to find in the US. I hope you like it!!!

    Like

    • Ok… thanks. Good to know because in my own house, my husband does not like cabbage in any form, so I’ll probably have to cut down the recipe for just myself. Raisins are good for me, but a great idea for adding color to the dish.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

