All Things Russian: A Journey through Stories, Culture, and Food

I was born and raised in Russia when it was still a part of the Soviet Union, or USSR. For a long time, Russia was hidden behind the Iron Curtain and had a mysterious image of the Evil Empire to many Westerners.

But Russia was a mystery not just to outsiders, but to its own people as well. One of my college history professors used to refer to Russia as a country with unpredictable past. Why? Because every time a new leader came to power, all state-issued history books were changed and rewritten. And all history books were state-issued.

A lot of my non-Russian friends always ask me about Russia, so I started this blog to share what I know, what I like (and sometimes what I don’t like!), and what intrigues me.

I write fiction about Russia. All my books are on my website. Take a look if you’re curious: http://www.juliagousseva.com.

And I love to connect with people, so please feel free to comment. I’ll try to answer as soon as I can, usually within the same day.

THANK YOU for visiting my blog!!!!

Sincerely,

Julia

Categories: Russia, Russian culture, Russian Food, Russian historical fiction, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “All Things Russian: A Journey through Stories, Culture, and Food

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

  2. Very nice blog you have here. Love your recipes, they’re so different. My husband’s family is Polish, so not Russian, but they do eat the pickled cabbage and my Mother in Law actually grows and makes her own horseradish.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Christmas with Julia | Life in Russia

  4. Julia,

    “Firebird” is highlighted today on eBookDaily.com:

    http://ebookdaily.com/free-kindle-ebooks/2014-08-19/B008AVXGA2

    Like

  5. Thank you for highlighting my book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

